Did you hear that?

The house is so quiet. The boy just left on the bus wearing the failed infinity scarf/cowl that I had made for myself. I casted off too tightly and couldn’t fit it over my gigantic head, so now he wears it proudly. The weekends can sometimes get hectic around here. Art projects left on the table. Plates of uneaten nachos are just waiting for someone to give up and just throw them away. A weekend full of “pick up after yourself”, “do the dishes” and “FFS, someone fold the laundry so we have somewhere to sit!” has passed and now the house is quiet. The boy is at school. The girl is at her Mom’s house. The wife has gone to work. So now would be a perfect time to sit and focus on homework before making a run to the Costco. I could get ahead in my studies with no distractions. Instead I notice that the house is empty and it feels strange.

My schoolwork is staring me down and instead of the kids distracting me, or SpongeBob being played too loudly, I have a fish tank bubbling in my ear from across the room. I wonder how much of a negative effect it would have on the fish if I unplugged it. I also hear the computers fan lightly humming, like a seashell that will never shut up. I guess I could turn it off but it may be more difficult to do my online homework without it. I never realized how much I have gotten used to the constant motion that my house seems to be in. Do I need the bangs and shouts to actually be able to concentrate anymore?

This being a stay at home Dad and student isn’t what I thought it would be. I was going to get so much done. I was going to take advantage of the quiet time and actually accomplish more than just treading water at some job. The kids were going to love me. I was going to get straight A’s and maybe make a few friends at school. I was going to learn how to cook! While I have been able to do most of those things in some capacity, (my homemade mac and cheese is better than yours!) it still feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day.

I somewhat refuse to take care of that plate of nachos before noon! I can’t remember if I brushed my teeth this morning or not. The laundry still needs folding, but I am putting that off until 2 so that I can watch my show at the same time. Sooner or later the quiet in this house is going to drive me to the point of insanity, so the homework will no longer matter. Later than sooner my homework will get the attention it needs, but for now I think I will find some videos to watch and take up the silence while I sip coffee and ignore the nachos… the filthy, cheesy, uneaten and discarded nachos. Do the Harlem Shake.

2 Responses to “Did you hear that?”

  1. Samara Says:

    I don’t know…my homemade mac and cheese is pretty damn good…

  2. behind a plastic smile Says:

    hmmm, I use nutmeg and that is a pretty hard ingredient to beat.

Leave a Reply

