I Was Near Death But Decided I Wanted a Taco Instead

*Kyra decided to make some edits and interjections after this was written. You may notice her new thoughts in BOLD

One of the important lessons I try to teach my kids is empathy. Try to look at things from someone else’s point of view. When someone tells you a story realize that you are only getting their perspective. The other person or persons involved may have a very different explanation of events. This includes the stories that you tell to others. Even though you feel strongly about the events does not mean that you are right. You are more than likely biased by your own interpretations of what actually happened. My daughter came home after job hunting in the big city with a tale of near death at the hands of a careless driver. Kyra, having a newly minted license, was driving through the parking lot when a woman inexplicably backed out of a parking spot and nearly ran into her before speeding off. She repeated many times that “I almost died! She tried to kill me Dad!” Then a short time later I received this message in my inbox.

She tried to kill me.

Did she? Or did you try to kill her? Think about it

She tried to kill me! 😦

Maybe she was trying to kill herself? Maybe she thought she had done enough when you stopped short and now she has to go on with her day feeling like she failed in life again…. you should have more sympathy for her plight. Or maybe she was having a bad day and decided she wanted to kill someone, and I was it. Ever think about that father? I almost died.

-.-

Weeks later she is still pointing out the fact that she almost died.

Along with grossly exaggerated stories of near death, Kyra also likes to try and distract me from a sensitive topic by offering tacos. While this does work sometimes (I do love me some tacos). Sometimes I can catch on to her smoke and mirrors and try to keep her on topic. I have been trying to convince her for years to participate in some fantasy football leagues with me and year after year she declines. This season I was signing up for another league when this message comes to my Facebook inbox from her room, so I took a chance.

Is my TV too loud?

Nope. Do you want to do a fantasy team?

No… I do want a taco though

Are you absolutely sure?

That I want a taco?

I give no shits about a taco…. fantasy footballs!!!! If you really want a taco there are still leftovers to be had(weeks later) I am still waiting for the taco that you never made me… not getting any younger here.

And I’m sure no fantasy football.

BOOOO!!!!

Why do you hate me?

Why do you hate me? I am the one creating a new bonding experience… you are the one fighting it! So who is displaying the ‘I don’t like you or anything you stand’ for behavior? YOU! I am creating memories for you to deny.

Wow…

hahaha. Ask me why I hate you and that is what you get!

One day I will get to her and she will discover just how wonderful it is to participate in fake football for no reward from the safety of behind a computer screen. Hey, I have taken the large step in doing the board at Randy’s Fantasy Football draft. That is quality bonding time right there. Appreciate the good things. I don’t have a team but I still actively participate for at least one day out of the year… I feel that is a decent amount of effort put into it.

Leave a Reply

